Are You at Risk of Dying a Victim of Hustle Culture?

Abram Moore
4 min readApr 14, 2022

When I was asked an important question, “what brings me joy,” I immediately thought I had the perfect answer. “I love being creative; that’s what brings me joy.” I reflected on the times I networked with other creatives, had mid-day strategy sessions at coffee shops, and photographed intelligent influencers. I was satisfied with my answer, but not for long.

When I looked deeper within myself and inspected more of these creative moments, I realized that being creative did not bring me joy on every occasion. There were times I had to leave birthday parties for a photoshoot and evenings I spent in my office editing images or videos while my wife and children were laughing in the other room. Occasions when I missed interacting with others in a public setting and mingling at a party by my wife’s side because I was in charge of the music and other media for the evening.

I started to look at what I thought brought me joy and subtracted the times I felt it disconnected me, and my answer changed. This moment of reflection and introspection helped me identify my most profound joy, my family. I started to look at the numbers, comparing how much time I spent with my family, and realized I had become a victim of hustle culture.

Hustle culture is this mentality to forsake all others to accomplish your professional…

--

--

Abram Moore

Tech and Media Creative — a purpose-driven entrepreneur who shares thoughts and insights on personal and business development and how to balance the two.